bemybabynow

Here we go…

Posted on: September 13, 2011

Well, I should have started this blog a few months ago I suppose. Earlier this year, my husband and I decided that now was the time to start our family. We always knew we wanted a family, but had not been sure about the timing.

Of course there is never a perfect time, as of course nothing is ever perfect. But we felt we were close enough.

It’s weird to go from avoiding pregnancy to trying to achieve it. I wasn’t going to become one of those women who turned sex into a job or a means to an end. I fully felt that it would happen when it was meant to happen. But there was this little, nagging voice in the back of my head. You see, I turned 38 this August, and as most of you know, women fall off a cliff and hit a brick wall simultaneously at 65 MPH after 35. Being in denial of my age, though, I moved bravely forward. And in my second month off of the pill, I was late.

One week late, then into the next, I told my husband that it was time to take a test. We waited until a Sunday morning. I entered the bathroom, did my thing and expected to have to wait the obligatory three minutes as stated on the box. But immediately two lines popped up, saying “Uh, hello, you’re pregnant”.

So here we are, at 11 weeks 4 days. I’ve already been to three prenatal visits (with a midwife) the first of which I was only 7 weeks 3 days. I’ve also had a nuchal translucency ultrasound and the first round of blood tests. The ultrasound looked great; we’re still waiting for the blood results.

My hope with this blog is to share my experience as a mom over 35 going through a real pregnancy. Real details, experiences, no voodoo. The information out there scaring pregnant women is overwhelming. What you can eat, what you can’t, chemicals, hair dye, exercise. I’m sick of the scare tactics, I’m tired of how women are patronized in terms of their health care and especially during pregnancy. Feel free to share your experiences here, the dirty looks you got ordering a glass of wine, the “tsks” over a spoonful of feta, a runny egg or this all out blitz over lunch meat. All the while trying to figure out what to eat that day that won’t make you barf.

More to come,

M

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • babyforbutton: Congrats on Naomi! My baby was born March 15th! Amazing how fast the year has gone by!
  • babyforbutton: update please!! :)
  • reilly873: I've somehow managed to ease the pain the past few nights, but only with some serious, ridiculous pillow arranging. Which is a royal pain in the ass w
